The Control Board is organised on the basis of its Plenary, the governing body responsible for setting the guidelines for the Designation of Origin, made up of 32 members representing the sector’s winery and grape grower associations.

The Secretary-Director General of the Control Board participates with the right to speak but not to vote and, by invitation, also the representatives of each of the Autonomous Communities of La Rioja, the Basque Country and Navarre where the Designation is located, as well as the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

The Plenary is made up of the same members and voting percentages as the Board of Directors of the Rioja Wine Interprofessional Organisation and is formally appointed by the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Pleno del Consejo